Slow Runs Will Make You Run Faster – Three Personal How To Do It Tips.

Endurance first, speed later.

Or forget about the latter. A runner needs to have a good foundation to be good at running. But strong runners have better foundation because of a well structured base building program.

This principle was popularized by coach Arthur Lydiard in the 1960’s. Today numerous online training plans (some actuality sucks) and coaches will have you structure this first at least 12 weeks before anything else.

There are TONS of blogs out there that teach about this principle. Even so I thought I bought this one out.

Because I have not read a “blog” that discribes how base building makes running practical, simple and improve race times!

Let me take this chance to cite some of the reasons why.

It’s speed workout without the speed workout. This is a no brainer. If a runner is consistent with his or her weekly mileage, the body will adapt. A healthy runners has faster race time.

Training is elite stuff, it ain’t me. Reality check here for a sec. I personally aim for long term relationship with running. Improve while sparing time for family and work. Pros can afford that. I got bills to pay!

DIY! Do It Yourself! Just what I love about it. Be my own coach. Allows me to control my pace and save me from injury.

Time to cut the chase.

How to safely build running base.

I have 3 easy to follow and practical ways to do it.

1. Stick to your calendar.If you have a 4 day per week sked, run 4 days per week.

2. Longer run on a week end. I have 2 types of running scale: DISTANCE or TIME. Increase either one of the “type” gradually and not the number of running days.

3. Snail pace is better than turtle sprint.In my experience and observation, I fare better in maintaining a weekly mileage in first gear. Take it s-l-o-o-o-w-w…

In a jiffy – take your time, make only gradual increase and stay first gear.

Bonus tip: Join a local club and run along with members who do base building.

Did you learn a tip or two? Or have one you would like to share? Please tell me. I will be glad to hear it from you.

Simple. Practical. No nonsense. ezRunner.

Leave a Reply

